Field Access

Greg Mercer’s visual journal

Inspiration: The Journals of Dan Eldon

leave a comment »

090110_eldon2

Dan Eldon’s work (above) continues to inspire me to take more creative risks and break away from the familiar.  I strongly recommend picking up the amazing collection of his 17 personal journals, “The Journey is the Destination,” delicately compiled by his mother following his death while working as a Reuters photographer in Mogadishu in 1993.  He was only 22 years old.  His vision was unique and inspiring, and his artwork is an affirmation of living a passionate life.  I’m so happy that his family decided to share this with the world and continue to use Dan’s story to inspire others through their non-profit, The Creative Visions Foundation.

You can see more about Dan and check out a few samples of the journals, but you really have to just pick up a copy.

I’m trying my best to follow Dan’s example by using a variety of media and creating more interesting spreads in my journal.  I feel like I’m just barely scratching the surface and I’m excited to see where I can take it.

090110subwaycollage11

Written by gregorymercer

January 10, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

