Field Access

Greg Mercer’s visual journal

White Pelican

leave a comment »

pelican_090106

This guy greets you right after you make your way into the museum’s Nature Walk.  I generally just take a cruise through the hall and see which animal calls out to me.  Yesterday, the pelican got the nod.

I have to hand it to the taxidermists–they’ve done an amazing job retaining the personality of these animals.  The habitats the artists created for the displays have mindblowing detail as well.  What was once one of my least favorite spots in the museum is now somewhere I find myself sketching a lot.

Written by gregorymercer

January 6, 2009 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

